Canvas course sections may be merged into a single Canvas course of your choice using the Canvas cross-listing feature. However, a cross-listing MUST be completed before the courses/sections are published and before students submit course materials. Find out more about cross-listing and how to cross-list.
If you have Instructor permissions in each of the courses/sections to be merged, you are able to complete a cross-listing on your own. If you need help completing the cross-listing, contact 24/7 Canvas Support, available via the Help button in Canvas and/or watch this video demonstration.
If you do not have Instructor permissions in each of the courses/sections to be merged, contact your School Canvas Administrator for assistance.
After sections have been merged, students will only see the course number and title of the chosen course in Canvas (to which you added the merged sections), although individual section groupings are retained in the background. You will want to notify your students of the merged course number and title so they will know what to expect. For example, you might send an email explaining how the course title and number will appear in Canvas.
If at any point you decide you need to undo a course merge, please contact 24/7 Canvas Support for assistance.